• Dean of the Texas Senate
  • Longest serving member of the Texas Senate, 2nd longest serving Legislator
  • Served 10 years in the Texas House of Representatives
  • Representing Senate District 15 for over 30 years
  • Chair, Senate Criminal Justice Committee
  • Chair, Criminal Justice Legislative Oversight Committee
  • Ex-Officio Member, Governor's Criminal Justice Advisory Council
  • Chair, Council of State Governments' Justice Center, School Discipline Consensus Project
  • Member, Texas Indigent Defense Commission
  • Member, Senate Administration Committee
  • Member, Senate Finance Committee
  • Member, Senate Business and Commerce Committee
  • Member, Senate Democratic Caucus
  • Member, Senate Hispanic Caucus
  • Member, Texas State Employees Union
Do you like this page?