Awards & Recognition

  • Harvey Milk Award 
  • Legislator of the Year, North Texas Crime Commission 
  • Big Voice for  Little Texans, Texas CASA
  • Paul Vasquez Award, Latino Labor Leadership Council
  • Legislative Leadership Award, Texas Corrections Association
  • Champion of Women's Health, Planned Parenthood
  • Frank Tejeda Award for Public Service, Texas State Teachers Association
  • Eleanor Tinsley Award, GLBT Political Caucus
  • "Humane-itarian" Award, Texas Humane Legislative Network 
  • Legislative Excellence Award, Texas Municipal Police Association
  • Legislative Star, Texas Classroom Teachers Association
  • Champion of Equality, Equality Texas
  • Texas Heroes, Harris County Democratic Party
  • Legislator of the Year, Justice of the Peace and Constables Association
  • Friend of Education, Texas Classroom Teachers Association
  • Legislative Queery Award, Texas LGBT Community
  • Governing Magazine, 2010 Public Official of the Year
  • 1993, 2003, 2005, 2011 Texas Monthly, 10 Best Legislator
  • Distinguished Alumni, University of Houston Alumni Association
  • Texas Pets Alive Legislative Courage Award 
  • 100% score on the Humane Scorecard published by the Texas Humane Legislation Network and the Humane Society of the United
  • Recognized by the Texas Humane Legislation Network and Houston